EST. 31st August 1995

Skyrail 历史

Play
Skyrail的纪年表
向下滾動以查看交互式時間軸。單擊不同的年份點以查看特定年份的歷史記錄信息

1987

初步构思Skyrail的概念。

1987-1994年

 
建设前阶段。执行并完成了可行性研究、环境影响研究和许多其他报告和评估。向当地、州和联邦政府和当地社区咨询并获得批准。

1994

Skyrail 开工。

1995

8月31日

 
Skyrail向公众开放。 Skyrail绵延7.5公里,建成时是世界上最长的缆车索道。更重要的是,Skyrail为人们提供了一个独特的机会,和世界上第一个以安全和环保的方式观赏和体验热带雨林的方式。索道安装了47辆缆车;每小时载客量300人。项目耗资3500万澳元。

9月

 

Skyrail开业的头几天就门票售罄。公众和旅游业的反应非常热烈 ——到第一年年底,Skyrail已经额外雇佣了30名员工。

1996

1月

 
澳大利亚联邦科学和工业研究组织(CSIRO)发布了《动态雨林》光盘。该产品主要介绍了雨林信息和位于Skyrail拜伦瀑布的澳大利亚科工组织(CSIRO)的雨林讲解中心。

4月

 
Skyrail宣布进行数百万澳元的升级计划,包括再购买67辆缆车以满足消费者需求。

5月

 
在瑞士日内瓦召开欧洲商务旅行和会议展览会上,Skyrail获得大会颁发的“绿色商务旅游奖”,因为这里是“最具环保意识的旅游景点”。
 

Skyrail 获得昆士兰旅游奖,“最佳旅游发展项目“奖。

11月

 

Skyrail获得澳大利亚旅游奖,”最佳旅游发展项目“奖。

1997

4月

 
詹姆斯库克大学(凯恩斯)一项调查确认了乘坐Skyrail旅行的客人所经历的学习和环境效益。
 
Skyrail在第一轮国家生态旅游认证计划(NEAP)中获得了生态旅游高级认证。

5月

 
Skyrail完成了250万澳元的升级;购买了67辆新缆车,将缆车总数增加到114个,并将载客量提高到每小时700人。升级还包括Skyrail 库兰达站的主要建筑扩建。

7月

 
Skyrail获得昆士兰旅游奖“最佳主要旅游景点”奖。

10月

 
Skyrail获得澳大利亚旅游奖“最佳主要旅游景点”奖。

1998

7月

 
Skyrail获得热带北昆士兰旅游奖“最佳主要旅游景点”奖。
 
Skyrail获得昆士兰旅游奖“最佳主要旅游景点”奖。

1999

1月

 
Skyrail成立了一家新公司Skyrail ITM。 Skyrail ITM是索道和旅游景点的专业运营商和管理公司。

7月

 
Skyrail连续第三年蝉联昆士兰旅游奖“最佳主要旅游景点”奖。
 
Skyrail因其对昆士兰和澳大利亚湿热世界遗产区的环境作出重大贡献而获颁鹤鸵奖。该奖项由联邦环境部长代表湿热带管理局颁发。

11月

 
Skyrail获得澳大利亚旅游奖“最佳主要旅游景点”奖。

2000

1月

 
Skyrail ITM被任命对韩国济州岛的旅游和索道开发项目进行重大可行性研究和环境影响评估。

6月

 
奥运火炬乘坐Skyrail缆车,创造了世界上首次奥运火炬飞跃澳大利亚世界遗产热带雨林上空的记录。

 
Transported in special ‘open air’ gondolas, which Skyrail imported from America especially for the occasion, the Olympic Torch travelled the length of the cableway carried by two Skyrail torch bearers.

 
Milton Brim, a Skyrail Ranger and respected elder of the Djabugay people whose traditional country includes the Skyrail route, carried the Olympic flame on the first leg of its rainforest journey from Kuranda Terminal to Red Peak Station.

 
Disembarking at Skyrail’s Barron Falls Station, Milton carried the Olympic Torch through the rainforest to Barron Falls look-out, before continuing the record-making journey to Red Peak Station.

 
At Red Peak, Milton handed the flame to Skyrail’s then-General Manager, now Managing Director Craig Pocock, who bore the flame on the remainder of its Skyrail journey, concluding at Smithfield Terminal.

7月

 
Skyrail入选昆士兰旅游奖“名人堂”的“最佳主要旅游景点”类别。
 
Skyrail ITM签约管理和运营位于悉尼塔龙加动物园的Sky Safari缆车,塔龙加动物园是澳大利亚首屈一指的动物园之一。

9月

 
Skyrail获得英国航空公司“明日旅游”奖,该奖项是一项国际生态旅游奖,旨在表彰他们对自然和文化环境的贡献。
 
Skyrail是澳大利亚第一个获得国际认可的环境管理认证ISO 14001:1996认证的旅游景点。

2001

7月

 
Skyrail获得热带北昆士兰旅游奖“最佳主要旅游景点”奖。
 
Skyrail ITM与新南威尔士州政府签订长期合同,管理、运营和维护悉尼塔龙加动物园的Sky Safari缆车。

2001年末

 
Skyrail通过了国际认可的质量管理体系认证,ISO 9001:2000。该认证有助于确保Skyrail在整个运营过程中提供最高水平的服务和运营标准。

2002

2月

 

Skyrail是世界上第一个获得升级的绿色环球21认证的旅游景点,绿色环球21是国际旅游业的可持续生态旅游基准权威。

3月

 

Skyrail接待了英国女王陛下和爱丁堡公爵。女王和公爵乘坐Skyrail体验了澳大利亚热带雨林的奇观,并在红峰站在导游的带领下游览了热带雨林栈道。
 

The Queen, on an official royal visit to Australia, flew into Cairns to experience the spectacular beauty and splendour of the region’s World Heritage listed Tropical Rainforests.
 

Departing from Skyrail’s Kuranda Terminal, the Queen and Duke of Edinburgh were accompanied on their journey by Skyrail’s Chairman and owner operator, George Chapman AO.
 

Highlighting some of the Australian Tropical Rainforest’s more fascinating and unique species as they skimmed over the canopy, Mr Chapman travelled with the royal couple to Red Peak Station where they alighted from the cableway to enjoy a fascinating boardwalk tour, hosted by Skyrail Ranger and Djabugay elder, Milton Brim.
 

The Skyrail experience was warmly received by the royal couple providing them with a unique perspective of one of Tropical North Queensland’s most beautiful natural attractions.

7月

 

Skyrail获得热带北昆士兰旅游奖“最佳主要旅游景点”奖。

2003

7月

 

Skyrail连续第三年获得热带北昆士兰旅游奖“最佳主要旅游景点”奖。

2004

2月

 

Skyrail主席兼产业拥有人George Chapman AO获得了“个人重大贡献”奖,以表彰他在澳大利亚旅游奖项中为旅游业所做的努力和成就。

11月

 

Skyrail入选昆士兰旅游奖“名人堂”的“最佳主要旅游景点”类别。

2005

5月

 
Skyrail关闭了十天,以更换索道前线[史密斯菲尔德到红峰]的牵引绳。这次更换是Skyrail长期维护计划的一部分。更换成功完成,Skyrail按时按计划重新开放。

8月

 

Skyrail庆祝其作为“世界上最美丽的雨林体验”的10周年。

9月

 

Skyrail正式启动Skyrail雨林基金会。成为澳大利亚政府登记在册的环境组织中的一员,其主要目标是筹集和分配资金,以支持热带雨林研究和教育项目。

2006

10月

 

Skyrail雨林基金会宣布捐款5万澳元,用于资助几项被统称为Skyrail雨林基金会热带气旋Larry的研究计划。

11月

 

Skyrail宣布对史密斯菲尔德站和基础设施进行一项250万澳元的扩建计划。这些工程包括搬迁和扩建预订和票务设施;开发一个更新更大的礼品店;以及引入雨林咖啡厅。

2007

5月

 

Skyrail关闭了两个星期,以更换索道后线[红峰站到库兰达站]的牵引绳。该更换是Skyrail长期维护计划的一部分。更换成功完成,Skyrail按时按计划重新开放。重新开放后,Skyrail为客人推出了新的礼品店和雨林咖啡厅。

6月

 

Skyrail扩建的预订和票务设施向公众开放。新设施包括六个售票窗口和更大的等候区,为客人提供更高的速度和效率。

12月

 

因其在既定基准上不断改善可持续环境的表现,Skyrail成为世界上第一个获得绿色环球金奖认证的旅游景点。

2008

11月

 
Skyrail获得昆士兰旅游奖“澳航可持续旅游卓越奖”。

2009

2月

 

Skyrail获得澳大利亚旅游奖“澳航可持续旅游卓越奖”。

11月

 

Skyrail获得昆士兰旅游奖“澳航可持续旅游卓越奖”。

2010

2月

 

Skyrail获得澳大利亚旅游奖“澳航可持续旅游卓越奖”。

9月

 

Skyrail获得了气候行动创新者认证,认可了Skyrail是一个创新的领导者,致力于环境最佳实践和保护,并为客人提供了解环境的机会。

 

因其在既定基准上不断提高可持续环境的表现, Skyrail获得了备受推崇的Earthcheck金徽认证。

10月

 

Skyrail获得热带北昆士兰(TNQ)旅游奖“可持续旅游奖”。

11月

 

Skyrail获得“澳航可持续旅游卓越奖”,现在已进入此类别的“名人堂”,连续三年在昆士兰旅游奖中获奖。

2012

4月

 

Skyrail获得地球测评白金徽认证,认可其在10年时间内一直是太平洋地区环境可持续发展的旅游企业。地球测评认证通用于70多个国家的1300多个组织。

2013

11月

 

2013年11月,Skyrail引入了11辆玻璃底缆车,每辆可容纳5人,让乘客可以从独特的角度鸟瞰热带雨林。

2014

11月

 

Skyrail获得热带北昆士兰(TNQ)“生态旅游”奖。

2015

8月

 

Skyrail主办了阿联酋航空墨尔本杯、国民杯巡回赛之旅,包括一天参观两个世界遗产地、热带雨林和大堡礁,同时认可澳大利亚土著参与赛马业。

 

Skyrail庆祝开业20年。 8月31日,Skyrail庆祝其成功走过的20年以及在这期间创造的一系列的“首次”成就。从一开始的国际奖项和认证到创新的运营解决方案,Skyrail迅速在国内和全球的游客中赢得了代表生态旅游景点的声誉。然而,今天该公司的核心精神仍然与1987年首次提出这一概念时一样——以安全和环保的方式向数百万游客展示世界遗产热带雨林。没有Skyrail,游客可能永远机会亲自深入热带雨林。

2017

2月

 

Skyrail获得了EarthCheck地球测评大师认证奖。 新的认证确定了Skyrail在可持续发展产业中的领导者地位,并在运营上满足各方面的条规。 大师认证是EarthCheck地球测评的最高荣誉,旨在表彰Skyrail在过去15年中的贡献。 Skyrail是世界上第一家获得地球测评认证的旅游运营商,也是全球不到10个地球测评大师奖获得者之一。

2018

3月

 

2018黄金海岸英联邦运动会的火炬接力跑也来到了Skyrail远古热带雨林。 Skyrail的三名老员工Kevin Parise、Reg Brim和Kelly Adams接过了火炬,他们每个人都为这个机会感到非常自豪。

11月

 

Skyrail is the silver winner of the Queensland Tourism Award for ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction.’

12月

 

Skyrail推出全新的Skyrail全程导览App,该App采用最新的尖端技术,包括引人入胜的增强现实AR、多媒体和GPS定位功能。
 

Skyrail opens the Rainforest Discovery Zone at Red Peak. The Rainforest Discovery Zone provides a more immersive rainforest experience to Skyrail guests with floor to ceiling interpretative panels, an illuminated evolutionary timeline and Australia’s most realistic jungle habitat of the primordial cassowary.

2019

3月

 

Skyrail开放了The Edge远古揽胜景台,这座令人印象深刻的钢铁玻璃悬臂式建筑高耸在拜伦瀑布站。 新的观景台让游客能够一望无遗地欣赏拜伦瀑布和峡谷的古老景观。它还有一块玻璃地面,勇敢的游客可以站在上面挑战自己的胆量。

10月

 

Skyrail is honoured to be awarded the Tropical North Queensland Excellence Award for Innovation for the Skyrail Interpretive App & Audio Guide.

11月

 

Skyrail hosts the launch event for six new Electric Vehicle charge stations in Tropical North Queensland as part of Queensland’s Electric Super Highway, known as the Tropical North Queensland EV Drive spanning 500 kilometres. The locations include Coffee Works, Herberton Historic Village, Hartley’s Crocodile Adventures, Mossman Gorge and Paronella Park. Built by Intrust Energy Solutions in conjunction with RACQ and the Queensland Government (Department of State Development) supporting growth in sustainable tourism and working towards increased environmental conservation.

Skyrail的修建

 

Skyrail的概念构思于1987年,在接下来的7年时间中进行了前期建设可行性研究、环境影响研究和许多其他报告、评估咨询,获得了当地、昆州和联邦政府和当地社区的批准。

 

Skyrail于1994年6月正式动工。Skyrail项目使用的是世界顶尖的建筑施工技术。 Skyrail热带雨林缆车全长7.5公里,在建成时是世界上最长的缆车索道。

 

缆车于1995年8月31日向公众开放。2013年12月,Skyrail引入11台玻璃底缆车。直到今天,Skyrail热带雨林缆车依然是世界上最环保的索道工程。

阅读更多

EST. 31st August 1995

The Skyrail Story

Play
The Skyrail Timeline
Click on the different year points to view the history information from that specific year.

1987

In 1987 the original Skyrail Rainforest Cableway concept was conceived.

1987-1994

 
From the 1987 through to 1994, was the pre-construction phase consisting of feasibility studies, an Environmental Impact Study and numerous other reports and assessments. Consultation and approval processes occurred with local, state and federal governments and local communities.

1994

The pre-construction phase was complete with all necessary approvals gained and construction of Skyrail Rainforest Cableway finally commenced.

1995

31st August

 

Skyrail Rainforest Cableway opened to the public. Stretching 7.5km, Skyrail was the world’s longest gondola cableway at the time of completion. More importantly, Skyrail provided guests with a unique opportunity, and a world first, to see and experience the rainforest in a safe and environmentally friendly way. The cableway was installed with 47 gondolas and a carrying capacity of 300 people per hour. The project cost AUD$35 million.

September

 

Skyrail booked out in opening days. Response from the public and tourism industry was overwhelming – by the end of the first year, Skyrail had employed an additional 30 staff.

1996

January

 

CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation – Australia’s premier scientific research organisation) releases ‘The Dynamic Rainforest’ CD ROM. This product features rainforest information and facilities featured in the CSIRO Interpretation Centre at Skyrail’s Barron Falls Station.

April

 

Skyrail announces plans for a multi-million dollar upgrade, including the purchase of an additional 67 gondolas to meet customer demands.

May

 

Skyrail is the winner of the Greening of Business Tourism Award for ‘Most Environmentally Conscious Visitor Attraction’, presented at the European Business Travel and Meetings Exhibition, Geneva, Switzerland.

 

Skyrail is the winner of the Queensland Tourism Award for ‘Best Tourist Development Project’.

November

 

Skyrail is the winner of the Australian Tourism Award for ‘Best Tourist Development Project’.

1997

April

 

A James Cook University (Cairns) survey identifies learning and environmental benefits experienced by guests who had travelled on Skyrail.

 

Skyrail achieves Ecotourism Advanced Accreditation in the first round of the National Ecotourism Accreditation Program (NEAP).

May

 

Skyrail completes a $2.5million upgrade; 67 new gondolas were purchased, taking the total number of gondolas to 114 and increasing the carrying capacity to 700 people per hour. The upgrade also included major building extensions to the Skyrail Kuranda Terminal.

July

 

Skyrail is the Winner of the Queensland Tourism Award for ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction’.

October

 

Skyrail is the Winner of the Australian Tourism Award for ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction’.

1998

July

 

Skyrail is the Winner of the Tropical North Queensland Tourism Award for ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction’. (Local Award)

 

Skyrail is the Winner of the Queensland Tourism Award for ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction’ (State Award).

1999

January

 

Skyrail establishes a new company, Skyrail ITM. Skyrail ITM is established as a specialist operator and management company of cableway’s and tourist attractions.

July

 

Skyrail is the winner of the Queensland Tourism Award for ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction’ for the third consecutive year.

July

 

Skyrail is presented with the Cassowary Award for its significant contribution to the environment of the Queensland and Australian Wet Tropics World Heritage Area. This award was presented by the Federal Environment Minister on behalf of the Wet Tropics Management Authority.

November

 

Skyrail is the winner of the Australian Tourism Award for ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction’.

2000

January

 

Skyrail ITM appointed to undertake a major Feasibility Study and Environmental Impact Assessment for a tourism and cableway development in Cheju, South Korea.

June

 

Skyrail establishes a world first by carrying the Olympic Torch on the cableway over Australia’s World Heritage listed Tropical Rainforests. Transported in special ‘open air’ gondolas, which Skyrail imported from America especially for the occasion, the Olympic Torch travelled the length of the cableway carried by two Skyrail torch bearers. Milton Brim, a Skyrail Ranger and respected elder of the Djabugay people whose traditional country includes the Skyrail route, carried the Olympic flame on the first leg of its rainforest journey from Kuranda Terminal to Red Peak Station. Disembarking at Skyrail’s Barron Falls Station, Milton carried the Olympic Torch through the rainforest to Barron Falls look-out, before continuing the record-making journey to Red Peak Station. At Red Peak, Milton handed the flame to Skyrail’s then-General Manager, now Managing Director Craig Pocock, who bore the flame on the remainder of its Skyrail journey, concluding at Smithfield Terminal.

July

 

Skyrail is inducted into the Queensland Tourism Awards ‘Hall of Fame’ in the category of ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction’.

 

Skyrail ITM contracted to manage and operate the new Sky Safari cableway at Taronga Zoo in Sydney, one of Australia’s premier zoos.

September

 

Skyrail is the winner of the British Airways ‘Tourism for Tomorrow’ Award, an international eco-tourism award, in recognition of their contribution to the natural and cultural environment.

 

Skyrail is the first tourist attraction in Australia to be certified with the internationally recognised Environmental Management certification, ISO 14001:1996.

2001

July

 

Skyrail is the Winner of the Tropical North Queensland Tourism Award for ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction’.

 

Skyrail ITM signs long-term contract with the State Government of New South Wales to manage, operate and maintain the Sky Safari cableway at Taronga Zoo in Sydney.

November

Skyrail is certified with the internationally recognised Quality Management System certification, ISO 9001:2000. The certification was awarded due to Skyrail’s exceptional service and operational standards.

2002

March

 

Skyrail hosts Her Majesty the Queen and Duke of Edinburgh. The Queen and Duke travel on Skyrail and experience the wonders of Australia’s Tropical Rainforests including a guided rainforest boardwalk tour at Red Peak Station. The Queen, on an official royal visit to Australia, flew into Cairns to experience the spectacular beauty and splendour of the region’s World Heritage listed Tropical Rainforests. Departing from Skyrail’s Kuranda Terminal, the Queen and Duke of Edinburgh were accompanied on their journey by Skyrail’s Chairman and owner operator, George Chapman AO. Highlighting some of the Australian Tropical Rainforest’s more fascinating and unique species as they skimmed over the canopy, Mr Chapman travelled with the royal couple to Red Peak Station where they alighted from the cableway to enjoy a fascinating boardwalk tour, hosted by Skyrail Ranger and Djabugay elder, Milton Brim. The Skyrail experience was warmly received by the royal couple providing them with a unique perspective of one of Tropical North Queensland’s most beautiful natural attractions.

February

 

Skyrail is the first tourist attraction in the world to be certified under the upgraded Green Globe 21, the international travel and tourism industry’s sustainable ecotourism bench marking authority.

July

 

Skyrail is the winner of the Tropical North Queensland Tourism Award for ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction’.

2003

July

 

Skyrail is the winner of the Tropical North Queensland Tourism Award for ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction’ for the third consecutive year.

2004

February

 

Skyrail Chairman and Owner, George Chapman AO, received the ‘Significant Contribution by an Individual’ award in recognition of his efforts and achievements to tourism at the Australian Tourism Awards.

November

 

Skyrail is inducted into the Tropical North Queensland Tourism Awards ‘Hall of Fame’ in the category of ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction’.

2005

May

 

Skyrail closes for ten days to replace the haul rope on the cableway’s front line (Smithfield to Red Peak). The changeover was a part of Skyrail’s long-term, planned maintenance schedule. It was completed successfully and Skyrail re-opened on time and as planned.

August

 

Skyrail celebrates its 10th year as ‘The World’s Most Beautiful Rainforest Experience’.

September

 

Skyrail officially launches the Skyrail Rainforest Foundation. Entered on the Australian Government’s Register of Environmental Organisations, the Foundation’s primary objective is to raise and distribute funds to support tropical rainforest research and education projects.

2006

October

 

The Skyrail Rainforest Foundation announces a $50,000 commitment towards the funding of several research initiatives, to be collectively known as the Skyrail Rainforest Foundation Cyclone Larry Project

November

 

Skyrail announces a $2.5 million expansion of its Smithfield Terminal and infrastructure. The works included the relocation and expansion of the Reservations and Ticketing facilities; development of a new, larger Gift Shop; and the introduction of the Canopy Cafe.

2007

May

 

Skyrail closes for two weeks to replace the haul rope on the cableway’s back line (Red Peak to Kuranda Terminal). The changeover was a part of Skyrail’s long-term, planned maintenance schedule. It was completed successfully and Skyrail re-opened on time and as planned. Upon re-opening, Skyrail unveils its new Gift Shop and Canopy Cafe to guests.

June

 

Skyrail’s expanded Reservations and Ticketing facilities open to the public. The new facilities feature six ticketing windows and larger waiting area, providing increased speed and efficiency for guests.

December

 

Skyrail was the first tourist attraction in the world to be Green Globe Gold certified for its continual improvement of sustainable environmental performance against established benchmarks.

2008

November

 

Skyrail is the winner of the ‘Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism’ at the Queensland Tourism Awards.

2009

February

 

Skyrail is the winner of the ‘Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism’ at the Australian Tourism Awards.

November

 

Skyrail is the winner of the ‘Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism’ at the Queensland Tourism Awards.

2010

February

 

Skyrail is the winner of the ‘Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism’ at the Australian Tourism Awards.

September

 

Skyrail achieved the Climate Action Innovator accreditation, recognising Skyrail as an innovative leader, committed to environmental best practice and conservation and providing guests with the opportunity to learn about the environment.

 

Skyrail achieved the highly regarded EarthCheck Gold certification for its continual improvement of sustainable environmental performance against established benchmarks.

October

 

Skyrail is the winner of the ‘Sustainable Tourism Award’ at the Tropical North Queensland (TNQ) Tourism Awards.

November

 

Skyrail is the winner of the ‘Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism’ and is now in the ‘Hall of Fame’ for this category, winning the award for three consecutive years at the Queensland Tourism Awards.

2012

April

 

Skyrail is accredited with Platinum EarthCheck status having been recognised as an environmentally sustainable tourism business in the Pacific region after a ten year benchmarking and certification program used by more than 1,300 organisations in over 70 countries.

2013

November

 

Skyrail introduced 11 Diamond View, glass floor, gondolas which seat 5 people and offer yet another amazing 360 degree perspective of the rainforest, also looking straight below through the canopy to the forest floor.

2014

November

 

Skyrail is the winner of the Tropical North Queensland (TNQ) ‘Ecotourism’ award.

2015

August

 

Skyrail hosts the Emirates Melbourne Cup, The Peoples Cup trophy tour included a visit to two World Heritage areas in one day, the rainforest and Great Barrier Reef while recognising indigenous Australian’s involvement in the racing industry.

August

 

Skyrail celebrates 20 years of operation. On 31 August, Skyrail celebrates a major milestone having completed 20 years of operations and boasting a host of ‘firsts’ along the way. From international awards and accreditations to innovative operational solutions right from the start, Skyrail quickly forged a reputation as an iconic, eco-tourism attraction amongst visitors domestically, and globally. The core ethos of the company, however, remains the same today as it did in 1987 when the concept was first mooted – to showcase World Heritage Listed tropical rainforest to millions of visitors in a safe and environmentally friendly way, visitors who without Skyrail, would never have had the opportunity to experience.

2017

February

 

Skyrail is awarded EarthCheck’s Master Certification. The new certification confirms Skyrail as a leader in the field of sustainability reporting and compliance across all aspects of the business. The Master Certification is EarthCheck’s highest accolade that recognises Skyrail’s commitment over the last 15 years. Skyrail was the first tourism operator in the world to achieve EarthCheck Certification and is one of less than ten EarthCheck Masters worldwide.

2018

March

 

Skyrail welcomed the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Baton to the ancient rainforest. Skyrail’s three baton bearers were long-term staff members Kevin Parise, Reg Brim and Kelly Adams who were each very proud of the opportunity.

November

 

Skyrail is the silver winner of the Queensland Tourism Award for ‘Best Major Tourist Attraction.’

December

 

Skyrail launches the brand new Skyrail App and Interpretive Guide featuring the latest in cutting edge technology, including captivating augmented reality, multimedia and GPS location functionality embedded into the design.

 

Skyrail opens the Rainforest Discovery Zone at Red Peak. The Rainforest Discovery Zone provides a more immersive rainforest experience to Skyrail guests with floor to ceiling interpretative panels, an illuminated evolutionary timeline and Australia’s most realistic jungle habitat of the primordial cassowary.

2019

March

 

Skyrail opens The Edge Lookout, an impressive steel and glass cantilever structure located at Barron Falls Station. The new lookout provides access to unimpeded panoramic views of the ancient landscape spanning across the waterfall and down along the Gorge. It also features a nerve tester section which invites daring visitors to stand on a transparent section of the boardwalk.

October

 

Skyrail is honoured to be awarded the Tropical North Queensland Excellence Award for Innovation for the Skyrail Interpretive App & Audio Guide.

November

 

Skyrail hosts the launch event for six new Electric Vehicle charge stations in Tropical North Queensland as part of Queensland’s Electric Super Highway, known as the Tropical North Queensland EV Drive spanning 500 kilometres. The locations include Coffee Works in Mareeba, Herberton Historic Village, Hartley’s Crocodile Adventures, Mossman Gorge and Paronella Park. Built by Intrust Energy Solutions in conjunction with RACQ and the Queensland Government (Department of State Development) supporting growth in sustainable tourism and working towards increased environmental conservation.

The Construction of Skyrail

The original Skyrail concept was conceived in 1987 and was followed by 7 years of pre-construction feasibility studies, an Environmental Impact Study and numerous other reports, assessments consultations and approvals with local, state and federal governments and local communities.

 

Construction commenced in June 1994 and required world first construction techniques. When completed it was the world’s longest gondola cableway at the time.

 

Skyrail opened to the public on 31st August 1995. In December 2013, Skyrail introduced 11 Diamond View glass floor gondolas which offer yet another amazing perspective of the rainforest below. Even today Skyrail Rainforest Cableway remains the most environmentally sensitive cableway project in the world.

Read more